Disappearing chat messages

As a security measure to protect your privacy, the following actions will result in your chat history being cleared from your Kik account:

    • Logging out of your account.
    • Logging into your account using a different device.
    • Deleting the Kik app from your device.
    • Deactivating your Kik account.

Once you log in, you'll still be able to see all of the chats you had in your conversation list before you logged out. However, the contents of your messages will be cleared from those chats.

If you see Nothing Yet as the message preview to a chat in your main chat list, it means that there are no messages between you and that friend in the chat. Once you start chatting with a friend the Nothing Yet preview will disappear.

Please note: We don't see or store any chats between users so we can’t retrieve copies of your messages.

Was this article helpful?

15 out of 46 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request