Here's some quick tips to help you keep your account private:
Choose a username that's hard to guess. A combination of letters, numbers and some special characters is the best.
Be aware of who you give your Kik to - the people you share your username or Kik Code with will be able to send messages to you on Kik.
Sharing your username or Kik Code somewhere like Twitter, Instagram or Facebook will make it visible to people you might not know - and they'll be able to message you.
- If you join a public or private group on Kik your username can be seen by anyone within that group
Use our 'Block' and 'New Chats' features to manage messages from contacts and new people.
You can read more about the privacy features that are built-in to the Kik app below.
Unlike many other smartphone instant messengers, which are based on a users' phone number, Kik uses usernames to identify our users. Your unique username is your identity on Kik.
If you haven't registered your Kik account yet, choose a username that's hard to guess. The best usernames include a combination of letters, numbers, and some special characters, and ideally shouldn't be your first and last name.
By using a username instead of a phone number, you're not sharing your personal information (like your phone number and email address) by others on Kik. People that you choose to share your username with (either directly or by using your phone contacts to find friends - see below) will be able to contact you on Kik. If you're in a group on Kik, anyone within that group will be able to see your username.
If you're an active user of other social apps and sites, you might choose to share your username or Kik Code on those sites to connect with your followers there. Remember that posting your username or Kik Code somewhere like Twitter, or Instagram, etc., may make it publicly available. This means that people you don't know will be able to send messages to you.
Use Phone Contacts
The Kik app includes an optional feature that you can turn on to help find your friends on Kik. The feature works by checking for accounts in Kik that match an email address or phone number stored in your contacts (on your smartphone). If we find a match, we'll notify both you and your friend with a Kik message.
Choosing not to turn on the optional feature will mean that:
- users who have your phone number or email saved in their phone will still be able to find you
- users who you choose to share your exact username with will be able to send messages to you
You can find info about how to stop people from finding you in this sync your phone contacts FAQ.
Note: On older versions of Kik, and on Windows Phone, Symbian and BlackBerry devices, this feature is called Address Book Matching.
Kik's 'Block' feature allows you to block all contact with another user, without revealing to the other user that they've been blocked.
This FAQ explains how to block someone on Kik.
Blocking someone on your smartphone or iPod means that messages from the blocked user will be hidden from your Kik app. The blocked user's name will no longer appear in your list of contacts in Kik.
The ‘New Chats’ feature on iOS and Android devices puts messages from people you haven't talked to before in a separate section, and provides the option to mute notifications for those messages. If you don't want to see inbound messages from people you don’t know, you don’t have to.
If you choose to open the chat in your 'New Chats' list, any content messages (like pictures, GIFs, etc.) will be blurred, and a read receipt won't be sent. This means that a new person messaging you won't know you've seen the message unless you tap Chat to start chatting.