How can I manage who is able to talk to my teen on Kik?

Kik has been designed to help users manage the messages they see, and we provide lots of tools to help.

Passwords

As a parent or guardian, you can make permission for your teen to use Kik conditional on your teen giving you access to their account. This will give you the ability to manage the messages your teen sees.

NOTE: As a security feature of Kik, you can only be logged into one Kik account on your smartphone at any time. When you try to login to your teen's account on another device, the app will reset on the first device your teen was signed into, and their chat history will be cleared. If you want to see your teen's messages, you’ll need to have access to their Kik from the device they're using it on.

We recommend that you and your teen agree on the password to be used for your teen’s Kik account, so you can access it anytime.

The most secure passwords include:

  • Lowercase and capital letters
  • Letters, numbers and special characters
  • At least 6 characters
  • And aren’t being used on other accounts your teen has

The password on a Kik account can be changed from within the app by going to Settings > Your Account, or by going to Kik's Password Reset Site in any web browser and entering the email address used to register the account.

For more information on how to change a password, you can check our FAQ.

Usernames

Unlike many other smartphone instant messengers, which are based on a user’s phone number, Kik uses usernames to identify our users. Your teen’s unique username is their identity on Kik.

If your teen hasn’t registered their Kik account yet, ask them to choose a username that’s hard to guess. The best usernames include a combination of letters, numbers, and some special characters (periods, or underscores), and ideally shouldn’t be your teen’s first and last name.

By using a username instead of a phone number, your teen’s personal information (like their phone number and email address) isn’t shared by Kik or visible to other users. In addition, people that your teen chooses to share their username (or Kik Code) with (either directly or by using your phone contacts to find friends - see below)  are able to contact them on Kik.

If your teen is an active user of other social apps or third party webpages, they might choose to share their username or Kik Code on those sites to connect with their followers there. Remind your teen that posting their username or Kik Code somewhere like Twitter or Instagram, or within a third party webpage (like Match & Chat), may make it publicly available. This means that people they don’t know will be able to view their Kik profile (display name, profile picture and background picture) and send messages to them.

New Chats

The ‘New Chats’ feature on iOS and Android devices puts messages from people your teen hasn’t talked to before in a separate section, and provides the option to mute notifications for those messages. If your teen doesn’t want to see inbound messages from people they don’t know, they don’t have to. In one-on-one chats from new people, any pictures or content messages they may have sent will be blurred, and a read receipt won’t be sent until your teen chooses to chat with that user. Your teen can block and report someone new right from the messages that have been sent to them. You may want to review messages from new people with your teen, so you can decide together which new users they want to talk with.

Here’s information about how the ‘New Chats’ feature works.

Use Phone Contacts

The Kik app includes an optional feature that users can turn on to help find their friends on Kik. The feature works by checking for accounts in Kik that match an email address or phone number stored in the user’s address book (on their smartphone). If we find a match, we’ll notify both users with a Kik message.

Choosing not to turn on the optional feature will mean that only users who your teen chooses to share their exact username or Kik Code with will be able to send messages to them.

Note: On older versions of Kik, and on Windows Phone, Symbian and BlackBerry devices, this feature is called Address Book Matching.

Reporting Users

If your teen has received unwanted messages from a user, you have the option to ‘Report’ the user sending these messages. When you report a user within the Kik app, you have the option to include your teen’s chat history with that person. This FAQ explains how to report someone on Kik. 

Once you report the user you’ll have the option to keep or remove the chat from your teen’s conversation list. If you choose to keep the chat, this will automatically block the user from your teen’s Kik account but save the chat history with them in your teen’s conversation list. If you choose to remove the chat, this will automatically block the user from your teen’s Kik account and remove their chat history with them.

NOTE: When you report with your teen’s chat history, it doesn't send us a copy of any of your teen’s other chats, and it doesn't give us access to their account. Your teen’s reported chat history is stored only for us to investigate the report and take action we believe is appropriate (in some cases, this may include reporting matters to law enforcement agencies).

Blocking Users

Kik’s ‘Block’ feature allows users to block all one-on-one chats with another user, without revealing to the other user that they’ve been blocked. This FAQ explains how to block someone on Kik.

Blocking someone on your teen’s device means that messages from the blocked user will be hidden, and all chats with this person will be deleted from your teen’s Kik app. The blocked user’s name will no longer appear in your teen’s list of contacts on Kik.

Blocking in Groups

If someone your teen has blocked adds them to a group, or is in a group with them, messages from them will appear as ***Blocked Message***. Blocked users won't be able to add your teen to groups. 

There are some other things you can do to manage groups.

  • You can report users within the group or the entire group. Here's how.
  • Your teen can ask the Owner or Admin for the group to remove or ban an unwanted user. To see the Owner or Admin for the group, tap the Info icon (it looks like two overlapping circles) in the top-right corner of the chat. The Owner will have a green badge beside their profile picture, and the Admin will have a gold badge beside their profile picture. Tap the Owner or Admin's profile, and then tap Start Chatting or Open Chat to send them a message.
  • If your teen is the Owner or Admin of a group, they can ban the unwanted user themselves. 
  • Your teen can leave a group chat at any time. 
  • You can also mute notifications for a group. Muting notifications for the group chat means that your teen can ignore the group, and they can still receive notifications for the chats that are important to them. 

Was this article helpful?

8 out of 9 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request